Slow boat in China

So we have given up on our Trans-Siberian/Trans-Mongolian railway dream…for now. Back to the drawing board for travel plans.

Options:

  1. Visit Mongolia
    1. At first, this was our plan. Ditch annoying Russia and their annoying visa process. Then I discovered obtaining a Mongolian visa is just as difficult as a Russian one. Don’t know where I got the idea a Mongolian visa was easier, but it’s not. So scratch that.
  2. Fly to Europe and start travelling there
    1. Schengen visa complicates this, as the 3 months start ticking as soon as I land in any Schengen country. Also expensive
  3. Japan
    1. Meh. It was okay but for some reason I just can’t get excited. Probably because it was so expensive.
  4. Korea
    1. Going there for 4 days over Duan Wu festival in early June.
  5. South-east Asia
    1. Hot, mosquitoes, hot.
  6. Australia
    1. Expensive. Extra flights. The whole “but I’ve spent over $10000 visiting my family 4 times over the past 2 years and they’ve not visited us once”. This whole thing is really starting to get to me. Also we – well, I at least. Not sure about the kid – have reached a point where I’m comfortable living away from home. The apron strings have snapped. I’m keen to keep moving in a northerly direction, for now.
  7. China
    1. Well, this is something I have thought about and discarded and thought about and discarded…
    2. We haven’t seen enough of China. We don’t want to come back anytime soon.
    3. The parts I want to see are in the south, which is hot, with mosquitoes, and heat and humidity…

Hmm.

One thought on “Slow boat in China

Leave a Reply

