Sewing

My grandmother was a sewer. Inevitable with 6 children, the eldest born during the Great Depression. My mum was the baby, and often tells how every stitch of clothing she owned until she got her first job at 16 (including her underwear!) was made by Nanny.Β One of my aunts became a professional seamstress, and my mum always had a sewing machine set up in our house.

One of Dad’s birthday or Christmas gifts for Mum was a proper sewing desk/cupboard contraption that he picked up at a clearing sale. Mum made my sister and I a lot of outfits, usually in coordinated fabric. One of my favourite outfits was a retro circle skirt. She made it from her old honeymoon dresses. She sewed us coordinated bike shorts outfits in the early 90s, and I think the last thing she made me was a blue pinafore dress. I wore it to our Year 7 disco and copped such horrendous teasing I never wore it again. I’m trying to remember the last time she sewed us something, and I’m thinking it was probably as I entered high school, and my sister and I started complaining that she was making us look daggy and embarrassing.

Mum used the sewing machine as an office after that, typing up church flyers and newsletters. I spent most of 1995 in Mum’s sewing room, making costumes for a Christmas play. I made outfits for my baby cousins. The effort this required my aunts (from the other side of the family) never fully understood or appreciated. I think this was my final sewing project. After that I started senior high school, we got a computer and the room became my assignment room.

I don’t know where any of the clothes she made are now. Probably handed down to the cousins, and subsequently discarded. Shame.

IMG_1918

 

2 thoughts on “Sewing

  1. My mum sewed our clothes too – quite often the same outfits in different colours for me, my sister and two cousins. Pity the youngest who grew into all four and wore them for years!

    1. In that way our younger brothers were lucky! I’m pretty sure the clothes went to my cousins on the other side & were discarded, but I’m going to ask. Ours tended to be matching opposites. If I was wearing blue, red, white, my sister was white, red & blue. I feel my family were in the wrong timeline. A few years younger, and we’d have our own etsy store and shop. A few years older and I might have picked up more from Mum. We shall soon see if any of the skills are in our genetic code!

Leave a Reply

