2/7. Jennifer – School Librarian

Facing similar challenges in my own school. Great ideas for engagement!

23 Librarians - and counting!

Jennifer Horan is a School Librarian. Since writing this post, she has moved on from the school she has written about.

Unlike many others who fell into the profession, I made a conscious decision at a young age to study Librarianship. I had always loved visiting and using libraries, so making a career out of it seemed the logical and enjoyable conclusion. The problem was, however, that I didn’t know how to go about studying it. When I left school in the mid-2000s, there was very little publicity surrounding studying librarianship; it was never an option presented to us. A chat with a careers adviser suggested a postgrad qualification being the best option, and with teachers urging me to “have a back-up”, I decided to complete an undergraduate degree in primary education. Admittedly I didn’t enjoy it, but a Saturday job in my local public library was an encouraging reminder…

View original post 822 more words

Leave a Reply

