2/5. Anne – Highland Libraries: the road to paradise

Feel like I just read a description of my dream job!

23 Librarians - and counting!

Anne Nicholson is Network Librarian, Highland Libraries, Highlife Highland.

The road to paradise

I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library. – Jorge Luis Borges

The road to Paradise - in this case the A830 - is always under construction! The road to Paradise – in this case the A830 – is always under construction!

I feel a drop of water fall on my head.  Rain.  I stop to consider for a moment just what kind of library Jorge Luis Borges imagined before hastily fetching a bucket and placing it on the floor by the large print romance.  Certainty not this kind of library, Mr Borges!  Lochaber in the Scottish Highlands is reportedly one of the wettest places in Britain.  This I can believe.  Fort William, the largest town in Lochaber, is home to one of the busiest libraries in Highland (number of visitors 2012/13 = 65,808) – a library with a flat roof no less – and where I spend the…

View original post 1,177 more words

Leave a Reply

