Death in the pot

I have lived in China before – in Ningbo, south of Shanghai – also working as a Teacher Librarian in an international school.  This experience was only short-lived – about 5 months – for reasons I may rant about one day!  Ms 8 was only 4 at the time and she had a terrible case of food poisoning/gastro, but I was lucky enough to have it only mildly after eating a turkey and cranberry sandwich from Starbucks.  This is one of the (many) reasons I dislike that chain.

Devil's Diner
Devil’s Dinner

Anyway, I am just catching up on life after being knocked out by the worst, the most crippling, the foulest bout of food poisoning I have ever had in my life.  In fact I think it is probably the sickest I have ever been in my life.  And ironically WESTERN food again!  Pork schnitzel to be precise.  Can’t even think about it without gagging!  I missed the first 2 days of teacher in-service (we had a whole 7 days dedicated to this, which was nice), and finally dragged myself in on the Wednesday through a monsoon (water a foot deep running along the street – fairly unpleasant) only to be barred from the library because teachers are not allowed keys.

I got a key in the end, but it was a fairly crappy start given that we were both drenched and I was still retching every time a new smell passed my nose.  Appalling week, but it was good to start to get my head around things.

Leave a Reply

