Tas MANIA

I don’t know why but that’s the way Tasmania sounds in my head.  So, we are here now – the butt of Oz, the underbelly of the great south land.  Actually it’s quite nice.  The weather is making me deliriously happy after the dirty, grey frozen-ness of Ningbo and the muggy fog of Queensland.  It’s perfect Autumn weather – the kind I didn’t think existed in Australia.  You know – the sun is shiny and warm without trying to burn the hairs off your skin.

We are in Launceston.  My great-aunt was born here, I think.  Her sister (my grandmother) was not so sometime around 1910 my family were here and then away.  Speaking with a random old guy in the lounge tonight who is from Melbourne but over here to go to Launceston hospital.  Perhaps that is what my great grandmother decided for the birth of my great aunt Frances?  Who knows…I’d like to find out but somehow having Matilda in tow always seems to spoil my travel daydreams.

For example: booked in to use the public library internet.  Barely 10 mins passed and only just scratching the surface of car hire companies to find the bargains when she starts shouting “Pee Pee, Pee Pee” like a demented budgie.  Hissed and glowered threateningly at her but when the screaming in my head started to make me dizzy we had to leave.

Dragged her across town to Maccas figuring free wifi with chips might work better, but she got stuck right up the top of their playground and started howling and while dozens around me were happily checking email or facebook, MY computer refused to connect.  Dejected walk home.  Stumbled across Officeworks and bought a Telstra prepaid wireless dongle thingy.  Hate to give those greedy bastards any more of my money but can’t trust the coverage of anyone else, especially when we don’t actually know where we live.  Salesman was slightly nuts – kept going on about bedsheets then started asking me where Matilda’s dad was and how soon he’d be joining us in Tas…

More about the backpackers later…

Leave a Reply

