Social media junkies unite

One of my key preparations for our upcoming European adventure and then Big Move to China has been to find social media that I can take with me.  You may have heard about the Great Firewall of China which blocks many popular social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter?  Last time I was over there, twitter wasn’t as much of a thing and I found I could survive without facebook, although it was frustrating as living 1000s of miles from your family and friends is funnily enough one of those times when a site that allows you to share pics and updates with them would be REALLY useful.

I did pay around $US14 a month to get a VPN/wormhole thing to circumnavigate the blocks, but it made Facebook look weird and I felt very dodgy.  And that was before smartphones were a thing.  I’m not sure how well the vpn model will work on a phone or tablet.

And I have grown to adore twitter.  I work in an industry where there are very clearly two types of people – those who use twitter, and those who don’t.  99% of my professional reading is via twitter.  I no longer watch the news because I’ve already read it all on twitter 6 hours earlier.  I’ve visited some awesome libraries and met some amazing librarians through twitter, including some who have become very good friends.

So I am more than a wee bit panicked to be heading to work in relative isolation where my colleagues and I don’t even share a common language and losing my PLN.  I need an alternative!

So far I have discovered wordpress works, but a blog is hard work.  I’ve also discovered tumblr works too and I find it a bit more ‘twitter-y’.  It seems to have a more social element than wordpress.  So I have started this blog there and will see which takes my fancy most.  It helps that I know librarians over there already.

I’ve also been revamping my neglected Instagram account after reading this blog post:

http://quicklistenup.com/instagram-in-china-does-it-work/

Loads of tweeps on Instagram, it has hashtags, AND according to the above blog I can set it to auto update my twitter and facebook feeds thus circumventing the Great Firewall of China.

Nice!

Tweeps

Tweep tweep

 

About gypsy_librarian

libraries, Scotland, travel, teaching, history, China, learning, parenting, reading, Australia...

Posted on May 28, 2014, in Australia, China, digital, expat life, family, library life, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

There she goes

Bookgrrl's Blog!

Anabel's Travel Blog

Writing about my favourite places

Onepointfivetravellers

Single Parent Round the World Adventures

The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

23 (more) Librarians

Snapshots of Scotland's library and information world

ALIA NLS 7

The site of ALIA NLS7 Sydney 2015

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

